A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline

Noise Boys

From: Dublin

Active: circa 1978-79


Lineup Mark I: Lineup Mark II:


The Noise Boys went through two distinct phases.

The original band included Tim McStay, Paul O'Raghallaigh, Brian Curran, Gary Eglington and Damien Roe. There was also a guy named Donal in the band. This Noise Boys was the first ever band to play the Dandelion Market in Dublin on Saturday 21st April 1979.

When the original band split, Gary Eglington and Damien Roe formed a new Noise Boys fronted by Peter Bower AKA Peter Hunter (Hunter was his mother's maiden name). By his own admission he was more than a little influenced by Jim Morrison and was known to disrobe on more than one occasion. He later replaced Scamaill in the Arthur Phybes Band and did a stint in London where he sang with the Silva Jade Band. He also fronted Autobahnd, who played Morans Hotel, and reckons his onstage antics were an influence on Bob Geldof. Guitarist Jimmy Warren was left-handed but did not re-string his guitar, so essentially he played upsidedown. John Bonnie was replaced by Ray Ellis at some point.

Gary Eglington and Brian Curran were also in the Arthur Phybes Band. Gary was later in the Zen Alligators. McStay, O'Raghallaigh and Curran were all later in The Resistors.


We need your help to correct and/or complete this entry. If you can provide more information about this band, have scans, photos or any other memorabilia we can use, or spare copies of any releases, then please get in touch.

See Also:

A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline