A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline

Those Handsome Devils

From: Dublin

Active: 1983-




Those Handsome Devils (THD) were a rockabilly/garage band fronted by Sean Foy. They began with Foy and Harte busking on Grafton Street in the summer of 1983. Drummer Leo O'Regan (ex Yeah! Yeah!) joined when the band began gigging in proper venues. Early gigs were done under the name Crazy Times, later changed to THD. O'Regan was replaced by Johnny Bonnie (ex The End) and Frank Rynne joined as second guitarist. Both left before the first single to form the Baby Snakes. Three tracks were recorded during sessions at Windmill Lane Studios for the debut single. Of these, "24 Hours (A Minute)" remains unreleased. The sessions were produced by P.J.Curtis and featured sax from Richie Buckley. The single was made "Single Of The Week" by Larry Gogan on his daytime radio show on RTE. THD also recorded at least one Dave Fanning session circa 1984 which included the otherwise unreleased "Lonesome Train" and "Johnny Cynic". Another unreleased nugget is "Concrete Blues", performed on RTE's mid-80s music TV show Visual Eyes.

In 1986 the band adopted a more garage rock sound evident on the second single "Don't Bring Me Down" though the rockabilly roots are still in place and this single is recommended. Despite critical acclaim, the band seemed to disappear.

Those Handsome Devils were a superb rockabilly band, closer to the traditional 1950's sound than the psychobilly scene of the '80s. While chronically under-documented in terms of actual releases, there are enough recordings in existance to make an excellent compilation CD.

Sean Foy popped up on various recordings during the 90s and recently released a solo album. THD reformed for a one-off gig on December 22nd 2007 at Thomas Reid's (Smithfield) in Dublin.

Lineups: Sean Foy (guitar & vocals), Frank Rynne (guitar), Pat Harte (bass) and Leo O'Regan (drums). O'Regan replaced by Johnny Bonnie; Leo is now a photographer. Frank Rynne & John Bonnie left to form the Baby Snakes. Bonnie later played in Scared Stiff and is currently one of the Radiators from Space. Pat Larkin (ex Blades) was drummer at some point.

THD at the Lark in the Park in Blackrock. Left to right: Sean Foy, Pat Harte (obscured), Frank Rynne.
[photo courtesy Michael Rynne]


• Hep Bop / Boy Meets Girl
7" - Souterrain Records - SOU 002 - IRL - 1984 - PS
A-side credited to Foy/Harte/Regan.
3-D cover artwork by Michael Rynne.
Produced by P.J.Curtis for Toy Boy Productions.

• Don't Bring Me Down / What I Say
7" - Solid Records - ROK 702 - IRL - January 1987 - PS

• various artists - The Sham Rocks!
CD - Stompin' Records - STOMP002 - 1996
See Compilations section for full track listing.

Seanie Foy rehearsing in Coolock
[photo courtesy Michael Rynne]

Sean Foy solo: • various artists - My Favourite Things
K7 - Mickey Rourke's Fridge - MRF11 - IRL - 1993
See Compilations section for full track listing.

• various artists - Natural Born Elvis
CD - Dam Good Productions - DPG001 - August 1998
See Compilations section for full track listing.


We need your help to correct and/or complete this entry. If you can provide more information about this band, have scans, photos or any other memorabilia we can use, or spare copies of any releases, then please get in touch.

See Also: Baby Snakes, The End, Scared Stiff, Yeah! Yeah!

A-Z Artist Index  Compilations  Record Labels  Media
Help Us!  Contact Us  Resources  Timeline